(in which I try to act older than I am)

I do not understand how people can believe they are tolerant of others, and then try to deprive them of rights.

You say that gay people want more than your tolerance, we want your acceptance. But how can this be tolerance if you are trying to keep a group of people in a lower class? Because that’s what this is about: having the right to marry the person you love. What does tolerance mean to you? That you will not stone gay people for our “choices?” That you will not stop us from having relationships? That you will allow us to express love in the privacy of our homes? Forgive me if I’m not falling over myself to praise you for your benevolence. You can’t support bans on gay marriage and say that you live and let live.

Acceptance? Approval? We’re not asking for wedding gifts, and you’re not invited to the party if you’re just deigning to be civil to us.

As it’s always been, and always will be, you’re totally allowed to have the opinion that being gay is wrong and that gay marriage is not equal to straight marriage. Just don’t use those opinions to control the lives of others.

I don’t speak for all gay people of course, but…

-We’re not doing this to piss you off or be different.

-We don’t need your approval, we just want equal status

-For god’s sake, it’s not a freaking choice.

